Plan C, take 15

Well, my plan for booting from the MicroSD did not work. Or more to the point, the first part worked (the actual booting) but the second part (expanding the Linux partition to take up the rest of the card) failed horribly. Once again the official wiki has failed me.

Anyway, forward!

I’ve decided to let the board boot off of the eMMC and use the 16GB MicroSD card for extra space. I’ve formatted the card with the following partitions:

Device Size Mount Comment
/dev/mmcblk1p1 100 MB /media/vfat The firmware freaks at boot if there isn’t a vfat partition on the MicroSD card.
/dev/mmcblk1p2 2 GB /var/lib/opkg Where the package manager stores its data.
/dev/mmcblk1p3 2 GB /tmp The BBB normally uses it’s limited RAM as the tmp directory.

This leaves me a bit over 11 GB free on the card to do with as I please.

I had originally intended to spend a little bit of time today setting up the filesystem to my liking and the rest of the day learning python and using it to interface with some simple circuits attached to the BBB. Now that it looks like I have the filesystem issue licked (I hope) I’m going to play with it a bit before bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

